The city of Chania

Chania, the capital of the Prefecture of Chania, is located in the north-eastern part of the prefecture and is the administrative, financial, commercial and communication center of the prefecture that bears the same name. The Municipality of Chania - after the implementation of the administrative reform program "Kallikratis" - consists of seven municipal units (former municipalities): Akrotiri, El. Venizelou, Keramion, Nea Kydonia, Therissos, Souda and Chania. The Municipality of Chania borders to the west with Platanias, to the south with Sfakia and to the east with the area of Apokoronas while the entire north and west side is washed by the Cretan Sea. The total area of the new Municipality amounts to 356.12 square kilometers. The permanent population of the Municipality of Chania amounts, according to the data of the recent census (2011) of the Hellenic Statistical Authority, to 108,642 inhabitants, a number that represents 17.4% of the total population of the Region of Crete (623,065 inhabitants) and about 1% of the total population of the country (10,815,197 inhabitants).

The city of Chania is the seat of the municipality and is the second largest city in Crete, built on the site of the Minoan settlement "Kydonia". It occupies an area of about 11 square kilometers and has a permanent population of 53,910 inhabitants (2011 census data). It has two main entrance gates: the airport at Akrotiri, and the port of Souda (the largest natural port in the Mediterranean). The city of Chania is a crossroads of cultures and continents, with a long history, natural beauties, unique architecture and rich tradition. The trademark of the city of Chania is the Venetian Harbor – in the old town – with the Egyptian Lighthouse that stands proudly over the centuries attracting the attention of residents and visitors.

See more :